Collected Plays One

Collected Plays One
The Optic Trilogy
Author: Alfian Sa'at
New Pb 329 pp
Subject: Theatre
Condition: Good
Publisher: Ethos Books
Published: 2010
This collection of four plays by Alfian Sa’at explores the themes that have become a hallmark of the playwright’s work: national identity, racial relations, and the resistance of individuals against authoritarian systems.

In The Optic Trilogy, the surfacing of buried secrets and repressed memories profoundly alters the way a man and woman see each other.

In Fugitives, the members of a family discover that their self-definition relies on their interactions with ‘outsiders’ who exist beyond their comfort zones.

In Homesick, a diasporic Singaporean family, quarantined during the SARS crisis, evaluate the meanings of home.

And in sex.violence.blood.gore, the façade of a rigid, orderly society is peeled away to reveal chaotic passions.

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good
  • Brand: Ethos
  • Product Code: 9789810860653 – Collected Plays One
  • Availability: In Stock
  • RM50.00

Tags: Alfian Sa'at, Authoritarianism, Diaspora, Lee Kuan Yew, National Identity, Plays, Race Relations, SARS, Singapore